Annie Baillargeon

Annie Baillargeon has explored a multidisciplinary art based on an exalted and transgressive representation of the body.

Drawn to the relationship between various modes of expression, she combines digital photo-montage and watercolour to create unsettling frescoes with an existentialist bent. The body, which is the central motif in her work, is multiplied, staged, and transposed in strange and whimsical worlds where farce, vulgarity, satire, and tragedy collide. The individual is shown in all her sublimity as well as her most troubling moments.

Read more »

Also a performance artist, Annie Baillargeon was co-founder and member of multidisciplinary collective Les Fermières Obsédées, and is now the founding member of multidisciplinary collective B.L.U.S.H. She lives and works in Quebec City.

Among her solo exhibitions in art centres around Quebec City and Canada, her work has been shown at L’Oeil de poisson and the VU Centre in Quebec City, as well as Gallery 44 in Toronto. She has taken part in the exhibitions L’envers des apparences at the Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal, C’est arrivé près de chez vous, at the Musée National des beaux-arts du Québec, The Constructed Image at the Contact Photography Festival in Toronto, and Touched at the Liverpool Biennial. Her work has also been exhibited in Serbia, Chicago, Wales, Brazil, Poland, Ireland, Australia, Ecuador, and France. She has been the subject of a couple dozen various articles and publications, and been awarded a number of prizes. Her work can be seen in many collections, including those found at the National Gallery of Canada,  the Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec, and the Art Bank of the Canada Council for the Arts.

Less »

 

 

Receive the price list

Annie Baillargeon

Annie Baillargeon investigue depuis plusieurs années un art pluridisciplinaire basé sur une représentation exaltée et transgressive du corps.

Intéressée par l’association des différents modes d’expression, elle combine le photomontage numérique, le dessin et l’aquarelle afin de créer des fresques déroutantes à portée existentialiste. Le corps, motif central de son travail, y est multiplié, mis en scène et transposé dans des univers étranges et fantaisistes qui nous conduisent à la rencontre du burlesque et de l’obscène, de la satire et du tragique. L’individu y apparaît alors dans ce qu’il a de plus sublime comme de plus inquiétant.


Lire la suite »

Travaillant également comme artiste en performance, Annie Baillargeon fut membre et cofondatrice du collectif multidisciplinaire Les Fermières Obsédées et est maintenant membre et fondatrice du collectif multidisciplinaire B.L.U.S.H. L’artiste vit et travaille à Québec.

Au nombre de ses expositions solos dans les centres d’artistes du Québec et du Canada, on compte l’Œil de poisson et VU, ainsi que la Galerie 44 de Toronto. Elle a participé aux expositions L’envers des apparences, au Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal ; C’est arrivé près de chez vous, au Musée National des beaux-arts de Québec ; The constructed images, au festival Contact image à Toronto et Touched, à la biennale de Liverpool. Son travail fut également présenté en Serbie, à Chicago, au pays de Gales, au Brésil, en Pologne, en Irlande, en Australie, en Équateur et en France. Elle a fait l’objet de nombreux d’articles et publications en plus d’être récompensée de plusieurs prix. En 2018, elle était une des nommées au Prix Sobey.

Son travail fait partie des collections suivantes:

Musée des beaux-arts du Canada
Musée des beaux-arts du Québec
Banque d’art du Conseil des Arts du Canada
Affaires mondiales du Canada
Musée d’art contemporain de Baie Saint-Paul
BMO
Collection Desjardins
Humber College
Heenan Blaikie
Loto-Québec
La Ville de Québec
La 
Ville de Montréal
La Ville de Longueuil
Cégep de Saint-Hyacinthe

Ainsi que plusieurs collections privées au Canada et en Europe.

Réduire »

 

 

Suivre l’artiste