Annie Descôteaux

Originally hailing from Quebec City, Annie Descôteaux has a BFA in Studio Art from Concordia University. Her work mainly explores simple forms arranged so as to let the viewer take an entertaining look at objects in our everyday environment and our way of interacting with them.

Read more »

 Annie Descôteaux’s artistic language is above all figurative and explicit, constantly moving further towards abstraction, where she creates her own refuge and intellectual safeguard against the sophisms, dogmas, and hyper-codification of beings and situations. However, certain everyday objects, selected for their particular qualities and metaphorical significance, still continue punctuate her works. The sparsity of each piece allows the viewer to take a step back and silently reflect, encouraged to construct their own corresponding and personal mental scenario.

Descôteaux revisits particular aspects of past artistic movements such as minimalism, modernism, and abstract expressionism, interpreted in her own way to bring to light conflicts, omissions, and in particular, overlooked women in art history. She constructs her works similarly to riddles, each a commentary on and active examination of how the world works (or doesn’t).

Annie Descôteaux’s works were recently on display at Galerie B-312 in spring 2016 and at L’Œil de poisson in 2015. She has also taken part in a number of exhibitions in recent years in Quebec, France, Belgium, and the United States. 

Less »

 

 

Receive the price list

Annie Descôteaux

Originaire de Québec, Annie Descôteaux est titulaire d’un baccalauréat en Arts plastiques de l’Université Concordia. Sa pratique est axée sur l’exploration de formes simples mises en scène de manière qui permettent de poser un regard amusé sur les objets qui nous entourent et notre rapport à ceux-ci.

Lire la suite »

 Le langage d’Annie Descôteaux, d’abord figuratif et explicite, se dirige de plus en plus vers l’abstraction, qui constitue pour elle un refuge et un rempart intellectuel contre les sophismes, les dogmes et l’hypercodification des êtres et des situations. Certains objets issus du quotidien — choisis pour leurs valeurs qualitatives et métaphoriques — continuent toutefois de ponctuer ses compositions. L’économie de ses interventions permet un recul, une méditation silencieuse et encourage la construction mentale d’un scénario personnel propre à chacun.

Annie Descôteaux reprend par ailleurs certaines notions associées à des mouvements artistiques antérieurs comme le minimalisme, le modernisme ou l’expressionnisme abstrait qu’elle interprète à sa manière pour en déterrer les conflits, les oublis et, surtout, les oubliées. Ses constructions qui se présentent comme des charades, témoignent de sa volonté de transmission. Elles sont un commentaire, un questionnement engagé sur le monde dont elle observe le (dis)fonctionnement.​

Les œuvres d’Annie Descôteaux ont pu être vues récemment à la galerie B-312, au printemps 2016, ainsi qu’à L’Œil de poisson, en 2015. Au cours des dernières années, l’artiste a également pris part à plusieurs expositions au Québec, en France, en Belgique et aux États-Unis.

Réduire »

 

 

Recevoir la liste de prix