BGL

The BGL art collective is renowned for their playful and inclusive approach. Since its inception, the collective has amazed, upset, and provoked the viewer, or simply made them laugh, with images that offer meaning on multiple levels. Some of the many themes explored by BGL include ecology, consumption, memory, games, and the value of art. Using a humourous approach, the collective strives to surprise us while encouraging us to reflect on the values of our society.

Read more »

 BGL, which consists of Jasmin Bilodeau, Sébastien Giguère, and Nicolas Laverdière, was formed at Université Laval, where the three artists first met. Ever since, they have been attracting attention for their high-quality work.  

Today, the collective is producing an increasing number of large-scale projects, all while retaining the hands-on, artistic aspect involved in their production.

BGL’s work has been exhibited at Casino Luxembourg, Artists Space (New York, USA), the National Gallery of Canada (Ottawa, ON), the Art Gallery of Alberta (Edmonton, AB), the Canadian Cultural Centre of Paris, the Contemporary Art Gallery (Vancouver, BC), and MAC/VAL (Paris, France). They have also exhibited work at Nuit Blanche events in Toronto, Paris, and Calgary, as well as the Oh, Canada exhibit at the MASS MoCA (Massachussets, USA).

The collective was nominated for a Sobey Art Award in 2006 and has participated in a number of biennial art exhibitions, taking place in Havana, Ushuaia, and Montreal, as well the Manifestation internationale d’art de Québec in Quebec City. They have also been selected to represent Canada at the Venice Biennale in 2015.

BGL’s work is collected in the National Gallery of Canada, the Montreal Museum of Fine Arts, the Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec, and the Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal, as well as by various private collectors.

Less »

 

 

Receive the price list

BGL

Le travail du collectif BGL se démarque par une approche ludique et inclusive. Depuis ses débuts, le collectif étonne, dérange, provoque ou fait tout simplement rire le spectateur avec des images qui permettent plusieurs niveaux de lecture. L’écologie, la consommation, la mémoire, le jeu, la valeur de l’art ne sont que quelques-uns des thèmes privilégiés par BGL. À travers l’humour, ils cherchent à nous surprendre et nous invitent à réfléchir sur les valeurs de notre société. 

Lire la suite »

 Le collectif BGL, composé de Jasmin Bilodeau, Sébastien Giguère et Nicolas Laverdière, a pris naissance à l’Université Laval, où se sont rencontrés les trois artistes. Dès lors, ils se font remarquer pour leur travail de très grande qualité.

Aujourd’hui le groupe multiplie les projets d’envergure sans jamais exclure le côté manuel, voire artisanal de leur production.

Leur travail a été présenté au Casino Luxembourg; à l’Artists Space (NY, É-U); au Musée des beaux-arts du Canada; à l’Art Gallery of Alberta; au Centre culturel canadien à Paris; à la Contemporary Art Gallery (Vancouver, BC) et au Mac-Val (France). Ils ont fait partie de la Nuit Blanche de Toronto, de celle de Paris, de celle de Calgary ainsi que de l’exposition Oh, Canada, au MASS MoCA (MA, É-U).

Ils ont été mis en nomination pour un Sobey Art Award en 2006 et ont participé à plusieurs biennales, dont celle de La Havane, de Ushuaïa et de Montréal ainsi qu’à la Manifestation internationale d’art de Québec. De plus, le collectif a été sélectionné pour représenter le Canada à la Biennale de Venise de 2015.

BGL est collectionné par le Musée des beaux-arts du Canada, le Musée des beaux-arts de Montréal, le Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec, le Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal, ainsi que par plusieurs collectionneurs privés.

Réduire »

 

 

Recevoir la liste de prix