Collecting art as a couple

JANUARY 17 TO FEBRUARY 16 2020

Collecting art as a couple, here is a subject for which there is little or no information. Is this a widespread practice? What is at stake? How to choose when there are two of you? We have tried, quite modestly, to address the subject.

For this exhibition, we sent a proposal to six couples who visit Galerie 3. We chose people with different realities. In fact, our group reflects a wide variety of ages, places of residence, income, jobs, education, personalities, etc. Already, this exercise has allowed us to confirm our intuition and shake up certain stereotypes: it is not only money or education that prompts us to collect, but a complex set of factors.

Read more »

Just like curators, our collectors had constraints. Each person had to choose one to three pieces in the Galerie 3’s inventory.  Throughout the process, participants had the choice of whether to discuss the project with their partners. Afterwards, they had to answer questions with a few lines.

You are invited to come and discover the result of this exciting experience that seeks to take a fresh look at this little-known practice.

 

Less »


In the media :
Ici Québec + Radio-Canada.ca : Claudia Genel – Collectionner l’art en couple
Ici Première : Anne-Josée Cameron – Collectionner l’art en couple
L’Aérospatial, CKRL 89,1: Gentiane La France et Myriam Le Lan – Collectionner l’art en couple

Collectionner l'art en couple

17 JANVIER AU 16 FÉVRIER 2020

Collectionner l’art en couple ; un sujet pour lequel on ne dispose que de très peu ou pas d’information. Est-ce une pratique répandue ? Quels en sont les enjeux ? Comment choisir lorsqu’on est deux ? Nous avons tenté, bien modestement, d’aborder le sujet.

Pour cette exposition, nous avons envoyé une proposition à six couples qui fréquentent la Galerie 3. Nous avons choisi des personnes avec des réalités différentes. De fait, notre groupe reflète une grande variété d’âges, de lieux de résidence, de revenus, d’emplois, de scolarité, de personnalités, etc. Déjà, cet exercice nous a permis de confirmer notre intuition et d’ébranler certains stéréotypes : ce n’est pas uniquement l’argent ou l’éducation qui font que l’on collectionne, mais bien un ensemble complexe de facteurs.

Comme des commissaires, nos collectionneurs et collectionneuses avaient des contraintes. Chaque personne devait choisir entre une et trois œuvres dans l’inventaire de la Galerie 3. Tout au long du processus, les participants avaient le choix de discuter ou non du projet avec leurs conjoints-conjointes. Par la suite, ils devaient répondre à des questions par quelques lignes.

Lire la suite »

 

Réduire »

On en parle dans les médias:
Ici Québec : Claudia Genel – Collectionner l’art en couple
Ici Première : Anne-Josée Cameron – Collectionner l’art en couple