Daniel Barrow

Barrow works in projection performance, installation, video, sculpture, printmaking and drawing to present cinematic narratives. Since 1993, he has adapted comic book narratives to “manual” forms of animation by projecting and manipulating drawings on overhead projectors. Barrow’s performances and installations aim to collide imagery from the cultural and digital past with emotional, usually melancholic, content; in doing so, he returns to a former or nostalgic experience of stimulus. All of his work expands upon dualistic, universal themes: good vs. evil, shame vs. pride, experience vs. innocence, and awareness of the present moment vs. an increasingly bleak, and rapidly advancing future.

Read more »

 Winnipeg-born, Montreal-based artist Daniel Barrow has exhibited widely in Canada and abroad. He has performed at The Walker Art Center (Minneapolis), PS1 Contemporary Art Center (New York), The Museum of Contemporary Art (LosAngeles), The International Film Festival Rotterdam, The Portland Institute for Contemporary Art’s TBA festival, and the British Film Institute’s London Film Festival.

Barrow is the winner of the 2010 Sobey Art Award – Canada’s largest prize for young Canadian artists – and the 2013 Glenfiddich Artist-In-Residence Prize. His work is included in the collections of the National Gallery of Canada and the Art Gallery of Nova Scotia.

Less »

 

 

Receive the price list

Daniel Barrow

Le travail de Daniel Barrow explore la performance, l’installation, la vidéo, la sculpture, la gravure et le dessin pour présenter des récits cinématographiques. Depuis 1993, il a adapté des récits de bandes dessinées sous forme d’animations manuelles en projetant et manipulant des dessins avec des rétroprojecteurs. Les performances et installations de Barrow visent à confronter une imagerie du passé culturel et digital avec un contenu émotionnel, habituellement mélancolique. Par ce fait, il retourne à une expérience antérieure ou nostalgique de stimulus. Son travail se développe principalement en regard de la dualité de thèmes universels : le bien contre le mal, la honte contre la fierté, l’expérience par rapport à l’innocence, et la conscience du moment présent par rapport à un avenir de plus en plus sombre qui progresse rapidement.

Lire la suite »

 Né à Winnipeg et basé à Montréal, Daniel Barrow a largement exposé au Canada et à l’étranger. Il a fait des performances au Walker Art Center (Minneapolis), PS1 Contemporary Art Center (New York), Le Musée d’Art Contemporain (Los Angeles), Le Festival International du Film de Rotterdam, l’Institut Portland lors du festival TBA de l’art contemporain et l’Institut British Film lors du festival de film de Londres.

Barrow est le gagnant du Prix Sobey 2010 – le plus grand prix du Canada pour les jeunes artistes canadiens et du Prix Glenfiddich- artiste en résidence de 2013. Son travail fait partie des collections du Musée des beaux-arts du Canada et du Musée des beaux-arts de la Nouvelle-Écosse.

Réduire »

 

 

Recevoir la liste de prix