Dopamine opéra – Doyon-Rivest

APRIL 6 TO MAY 6 2018 

Doyon-Rivest is returning to Galerie 3 for a second exhibition featuring a new body of photographic and sculptural work.

Read more »

 Dopamine opéra highlights the grotesque, dramatic side of the virtual society to which we all contribute. In the age of shared outrage and commentary, the real is dramatized through media and public opinion. The continuous flow of information that fuels our daily lives gives rise to social reactions as varied as they are excessive. Our perception of the world is consequently altered, our bias stemming from algorithms that sort and select “personalized” information for us. This exhibition reflects the collective’s current concerns regarding the impact of our virtual interactions, especially their repercussions in the real world. The new conceptual works maintain their humour and irony while taking on a more serious tone, confronting us with dark yet accurate metaphorical images of our world and behaviours.

The Doyon-Rivest collective’s artistic practice cannot be defined by a particular medium or technique, but rather by the vision and ideas that form the basis for the organic, eclectic creation of their works. Doyon-Rivest’s art has always found a way to cultivate poetry in the barren ground of business and corporatism.

Communication is a pillar of the system in which we live. It shapes our identity. In addition, the channels of communication and the way we use them are constantly evolving.  In this context, our duo creates artworks which raise questions by mixing up established codes and shaking up semantic fields. We generate empty spaces and short circuits out of which beauty and poetry emerge.

— Doyon-Rivest

 

Mathieu Doyon and Simon Rivest founded the Doyon-Rivest artist collective in Quebec City in 2000. Their works have been displayed in many solo and group exhibitions in Canada and abroad. They also created public artworks across the Quebec Province. Their works can be found in the permanent and the Prêt d’œuvres d’art collections of the Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec and BMO Financial Group as well as in a number of corporate and private collections. The duo lives and works in Montreal.

 


Less »

Dopamine opéra – Doyon-Rivest

6 AVRIL AU 6 MAI 2018

Pour sa deuxième exposition à la Galerie 3, Doyon-Rivest nous revient avec un nouveau corpus d’œuvres photographiques et sculpturales.

Lire la suite »

 Dopamine opéra met en lumière le côté grotesque et dramatique de la société virtuelle à laquelle nous contribuons tous. À l’ère de l’indignation et du commentaire, le réel est dramatisé par les médias et l’opinion publique. Le flot continuel d’information auquel nous carburons quotidiennement engendre des réactions sociales aussi diversifiées qu’excessives. De même, notre perception du monde se trouve transformée et souvent biaisée par les algorithmes qui trient et sélectionnent l’information « sur mesure » pour nous. Cette exposition témoigne donc des préoccupations actuelles du collectif à l’égard de l’impact de nos interactions virtuelles et de leurs répercussions dans le monde réel. Toujours empreintes d’humour et d’ironie, ces nouvelles œuvres conceptuelles prennent un ton un peu plus sombre pour nous renvoyer des images métaphoriques à la fois grinçantes et justes de notre monde et de nos comportements.

La pratique artistique du collectif Doyon-Rivest ne se définit pas en fonction d’un médium ou d’une technique, mais bien par sa vision et ses idées où les œuvres se développent de façon organique et éclectique. Le travail de Doyon-Rivest a toujours fait émerger de la poésie dans l’aridité des codes du consumérisme. 

La communication est un pilier du système dans lequel nous vivons. Elle façonne notre identité. De plus, les canaux de communication et notre manière de les utiliser sont en constante évolution. Dans ce contexte, notre duo crée des œuvres qui mélangent les codes établis et bousculent les champs sémantiques pour soulever des questions. Nous générons des vides et des courts circuits d’où émergent de la beauté et de la poésie.

— Doyon-Rivest

 

Formé à Québec en 2000 par Mathieu Doyon et Simon Rivest, le collectif Doyon-Rivest a présenté son travail dans de nombreuses expositions solos et collectives au Canada et à l’étranger. Ils ont aussi réalisé plusieurs œuvres d’art public au Québec. Leurs œuvres font parties de la collection permanente et Prêt d’œuvres d’art du Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec, de BMO Groupe financier et de plusieurs collections privées. Le duo vit et travaille à Montréal. 


Réduire »