DOYON-RIVEST

The Doyon-Rivest collective’s artistic practice cannot be defined by a particular medium or technique, but rather by the vision and ideas that form the basis for the organic, eclectic creation of their works. The collective’s body of works includes photography, installation art, video, sculpture, and public art. Doyon-Rivest’s art has always found a way to cultivate poetry in the barren ground of business and corporatism, but there is no denying that their work increasingly reflects personal experience.

Read more »

“Communication is a pillar of the system in which we live. It shapes our identity. In addition, the channels of communication and the way we use them are constantly evolving.  In this context, our duo creates artworks which raise questions by mixing up established codes and shaking up semantic fields. We generate empty spaces and short circuits out of which beauty and poetry emerge.”

Mathieu Doyon and Simon Rivest founded the Doyon-Rivest artist collective in Quebec City in 2000. The two artists live and works in Montreal. Working as a duo is an integral part of their approach. This way of working debunks the myth of the “artist’s creative genius” and makes communication essential.

Doyon-Rivest’s works have been displayed in many solo and group exhibitions in Canada and abroad, including at the Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal, the Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec, the Manif d’art in Quebec City, the International Photography Biennial in Amsterdam, and the Contact Photography Festival in Toronto.

Their works can be found in the permanent collections of :

The Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec                         The BMO

Borden Ladner Gervais LLP                                                      Two Rivers Gallery

Private collections in Canada.

Less »

 

 

Receive the price list

DOYON-RIVEST

La pratique artistique du collectif Doyon-Rivest ne se définit pas en fonction d’un médium ou d’une technique, mais bien par sa vision et ses idées où les œuvres se développent de façon organique et éclectique. Le corpus du collectif est constitué de photographies, d’installations, de vidéos, de sculptures et d’art public. Le travail de Doyon-Rivest a toujours fait émerger de la poésie dans l’aridité du commerce et du corporatisme mais force est de constater qu’il devient en même temps de plus en plus personnel.

Lire la suite »

 « La communication est un pilier du système dans lequel nous vivons. Elle façonne notre identité. De plus, Les canaux de communication et notre manière de les utiliser sont en constante évolution. Dans ce contexte, notre duo crée des œuvres qui mélangent les codes établis et bousculent les champs sémantiques pour soulever des questions. Nous générons des vides et des courts circuits d’où émergent de la beauté et de la poésie. »

Mathieu Doyon et Simon Rivest ont fondé le collectif d’artistes Doyon-Rivest à Québec en 2000. Le duo vit et travaille à Montréal. Le travail en duo fait partie intégrante de la démarche. Cette façon de travailler déboulonne le mythe du «génie créatif de l’artiste» et rend la communication essentielle.

Les œuvres de Doyon-Rivest ont été diffusées dans de nombreuses expositions solos et collectives au Canada et à l’étranger, notamment au Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal, au Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec, à la Manif d’art de Québec, à la biennale de photographie d’Amsterdam et au Contact Festival de Toronto.

Leurs œuvres font parties des collections permanentes du Musée National des Beaux-arts du Québec, de BMO Groupe financier et de plusieurs collections privées.

Réduire »

 

 

Recevoir la liste de prix