Grand écart – BGL

NOVEMBER 16 TO DECEMBER 20 2018 

10 years after their last solo show in Quebec City, BGL will exhibit at Galerie 3 for the first time. For the occasion, the indomitable trio has been given carte blanche to transform the gallery space with their trademark mix of mischief, poetry, play and a dash of irreverence to offer visitors an exciting and subversive journey as only BGL know how.

 

Read more »

See (or explore, as you wish) a farandole of works from years of undulating camaraderie (like all who don’t stand still). Like an earthworm burrowing into the galleries, we are there, moving forward.

In this new burrow, we dig for certainties never to be attained and find the consensual pathways to success. We have fun with this drawing in space and the choices it offers, continuing our quest while remaining open to chance.

And, ultimately, we hope to feel a kind of grace. Enjoy!

– bgl 

 

Key figure of Quebec and Canadian contemporary art, the BGL art collective is renowned for their playful and inclusive approach. Since its inception, the collective has amazed, upset, and provoked the viewer, or simply made them laugh, with images that offer meaning on multiple levels. Some of the many themes explored by BGL include ecology, consumption, memory, games, and the value of art. Using a humourous approach, the collective strives to surprise us while encouraging us to reflect on the values of our society.

BGL, which consists of Jasmin Bilodeau, Sébastien Giguère, and Nicolas Laverdière, was formed at Université Laval, where the three artists first met. Ever since, they have been attracting attention for their high-quality work. Today, the collective is producing an increasing number of large-scale projects, all while retaining the hands-on, artistic aspect involved in their production.

In addition to representing Canada at the Venice Biennale in 2015, BGL has been exhibiting its work at Casino Luxembourg, Artists Space (New York, USA), the National Gallery of Canada (Ottawa, ON), the Art Gallery of Alberta (Edmonton, AB), the Canadian Cultural Centre of Paris, the Contemporary Art Gallery (Vancouver, BC), the MAC/VAL (Paris, France) and MASS MoCA (MA, USA). They have also exhibited work at Nuit Blanche events in Toronto, Paris, and Calgary. The collective was nominated for a Sobey Art Award in 2006 and has participated in a number of biennial art exhibitions, taking place in Havana, Ushuaia, and Montreal, as well the Manif d’art, the Québec City Biennial.

BGL’s work is collected in the National Gallery of Canada, the Montreal Museum of Fine Arts, the Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec, and the Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal, as well as by various corporate collections and private collectors.

Less »

Grand écart – BGL

16 NOVEMBRE AU 20 DÉCEMBRE 2018

Après 10 ans d’absence en solo à Québec, BGL présente sa première exposition à la Galerie 3. Pour l’occasion, l’indomptable trio a carte blanche pour déployer, avec toute l’espièglerie qu’on lui connaît, une exposition à la fois subversive et un brin irrévérencieuse. L’espace de la galerie sera transformé pour offrir aux visiteurs un généreux parcours où la poésie et le jeu s’enlaceront dans une expérience épastrouillante comme seul BGL sait le faire. Une proposition à ne pas manquer…

 

Lire la suite »

À voir (ou explorer c’est selon chacun/e), une farandole d’œuvres de nos années de camaraderie en ondulations (comme tout ce qui avance et se déplace). Tel un lombric qui creuse des galeries, nous y voilà, avançant dans la nôtre.

Dans ce nouveau terrier : creuser des certitudes jamais atteintes. Trouver des réseaux consensuels menant à la réussite. S’amuser des choix et du dessin formé dans l’espace. Poursuivre nos recherches, en saisir la chance. Et, au bout du compte, espérer toucher à une certaine grâce

Bonne visite !

– bgl

 

Figure incontournable de l’art contemporain québécois et canadien, le collectif BGL se démarque par une approche ludique et inclusive. Depuis ses débuts, le collectif étonne, dérange, provoque ou fait tout simplement rire le spectateur avec des images qui permettent plusieurs niveaux de lecture. L’écologie, la consommation, la mémoire, le jeu, la valeur de l’art ne sont que quelques-uns des thèmes privilégiés par BGL. À travers l’humour, ils cherchent à nous surprendre et nous invitent à réfléchir sur les valeurs de notre société.

Composé de Jasmin Bilodeau, Sébastien Giguère et Nicolas Laverdière, le collectif BGL a pris naissance à l’Université Laval, où se sont rencontrés les trois artistes. Dès lors, ils se font remarquer pour leur travail de très grande qualité. Aujourd’hui le groupe multiplie les projets d’envergure sans jamais exclure le côté manuel, voire artisanal de leur production.

En plus d’avoir représenté le Canada à la Biennale de Venise en 2015, le trio a notamment présenté son travail au Casino Luxembourg, à l’Artists Space (NY, É-U), au Musée des beaux-arts du Canada, à l’Art Gallery of Alberta, au Centre culturel canadien à Paris, à la Contemporary Art Gallery (Vancouver, BC), au MAC-VAL (France) de même qu’au MASS MoCA (MA, É-U) à l’occasion de l’exposition Oh, Canada. Ils ont fait partie de la Nuit Blanche de Toronto, de celle de Paris et de Calgary. Ils ont été en nomination pour un Sobey Art Award en 2006 et ont participé à plusieurs biennales, dont celles de La Havane, de Ushuaïa et de Montréal ainsi qu’à Manif d’art, la biennale de Québec.

BGL est collectionné par le Musée des beaux-arts du Canada, le Musée des beaux-arts de Montréal, le Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec, le Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal, ainsi que par plusieurs entreprises et collectionneurs privés.

On en parle dans les médias:

Le SoleilL’épastrouillant retour du trio d’artistes BGL
La PresseBGL de retour dans la Vieille Capitale
Radio-CanadaBGL de retour à Québec (35 min 30 s)
L’Aérospatial –
Le Grand écart de BGL à la Galerie 3(31 min 50 s)

Les Chroniqu’arts –
BGL à la Galerie 3

 

Réduire »