Jean-Pierre Morin

Jean-Pierre Morin is a major figure in Québecois sculpture with a vast body of work, some of which is monumental in scale. For more than 30 years, he has brought titanic energy to a practice that requires great technical skill and a mastery of materials. His works call to mind the great minimalist and formalist traditions, while possessing a distinct “organic” quality.

Read more »

Morin doesn’t simply sculpt steel and aluminium—he sculpts the space around them. Void and volume, and even light, are at the heart of Morin’s practice; viewers are inspired to move around the work, to approach it and withdraw from it so that their perception of both the work and the space itself is altered. For the sculptor, the openings that punctuate the metal prompt curiosity and reflection. Like a magician revealing his method, the artist allows us to see the results and the process, without ever compromising the work’s inherent poetry.

Morin has created more than thirty public art works, around twenty of which were made as part of the Government of Quebec’s Programme d’intégration des arts à l’architecture. He has exhibited numerous times in Quebec and Canada, as well as in the United States (New York, Los Angeles, Dallas, Denver, and Miami) and Europe (Paris, Nice, Cologne, Barcelona, and Madrid).

In 2003, the City of Québec presented Morin with the Videre Visual Arts Recognition Award for excellence in his work and career.

In 2008, he was awarded the Prix de la Fondation Monique et Robert Parizeau, which allowed him to create Trombe, an emblematic work permanently installed in front of the entrance to the Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec (Quebec City).

Since 1988, the works of Jean-Pierre Morin have been included in numerous private and public collections in Canada, including those of the Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec, the Canada Council Art Bank, the Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal, the Musée du Bas-St-Laurent, the Musée régional de Rimouski, the Musée de Joliette, Banque Nationale and the Collection Loto-Québec.

Less »

 

 

Receive the price list

Jean-Pierre Morin

Figure majeure de la sculpture au Québec, Jean-Pierre Morin déploie depuis 30 ans une énergie titanesque à la réalisation d’un corpus d’œuvres souvent monumentales. Nécessitant un savoir-faire technique et une grande maitrise de la matière, ses œuvres évoquent les grands courants minimalistes et formalistes, tout en intégrant une « organicité » affirmée.

Lire la suite »

Morin ne fait pas que dompter l’acier et l’aluminium, il sculpte l’espace. Chez lui, les notions de vides et de pleins, de même que la lumière qui les habite, sont au cœur de sa démarche et amène le spectateur à se déplacer, s’approcher, se reculer, modifiant ainsi sa perception des œuvres et de l’espace lui-même. Pour le sculpteur, les percées qui ponctuent le métal sont autant d’invitations à la réflexion et à la curiosité. Comme le magicien qui nous dévoile son truc, l’artiste nous permet de voir le résultat et le processus, sans jamais en altérer la poésie fondatrice.

Il a réalisé plus d’une trentaine d’œuvres publiques, dont une vingtaine dans le cadre du programme d’intégration des arts à l’architecture du gouvernement du Québec, en plus d’avoir exposé à maintes reprises ses œuvres au Québec et au Canada, de même qu’aux États-Unis (New York, Los Angeles, Dallas, Denver, Miami) et en Europe (Paris, Nice, Cologne, Barcelone, Madrid).

En 2003, la Ville de Québec lui remettait le Prix Videre Reconnaissance soulignant l’excellence de son œuvre et de sa carrière.

En 2008, il a reçu le Prix de la Fondation Monique et Robert Parizeau qui lui a permis de réaliser Trombe, une des œuvres emblématiques installée en permanence devant l’entrée du Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec (Québec).

Depuis 1988, les œuvres de Jean-Pierre Morin font également partie de plusieurs collections privées et publiques au Canada, dont celles du Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec, de la Banque d’œuvres d’art du Canada, du Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal, du Musée du Bas-St-Laurent, du Musée régional de Rimouski, du Musée de Joliette, de la Banque Nationale et de la collection Loto-Québec.

Réduire »

 

 

Recevoir la liste de prix