The Curl – Andrea Mortson

MARCH 22 TO APRIL 21 2019

For her newest exhibition at Galerie 3, Andrea Mortson presents a series of paintings entitled The Curl.

The curl lifts the surface to reveal an alternate side, previously hidden but equal. The curl reminds us that it is impossible to represent the external world without simultaneously referring to an internal one. The curl gains form as it twists.

The paintings in this exhibition refer to ordinary interactions between art and nature—the landscape travelled to deliver a painting, the flower arranger at work, art being created en plein air, or the choreographed experience of a sculpture garden—as well as the human-centric pursuit of permanence that lies beneath all of these activities.

– Andrea Mortson

Lire la suite »

 

Andrea Mortson’s paintings invite us into a dreamlike world where symbols and colours are engaged in a captivating dialogue with reality. Imaginary landscapes, existing as outward manifestations of an inner state, transport us to a magical world, both free and romantic, that evokes a sense of escape and the recollection of lost moments.

She took part in the Oh, Canada exhibition at MASS MoCA (Massachusetts, USA) and the Painting Project at the Galerie de l’UQAM (Montreal). Her work is collected by the Art Gallery of Nova Scotia, the Owen Art Gallery, the Confederation Centre of the Arts, the Canada Council Art Bank, BMO Financial Group as well as private collections in Canada and the U.S. In 2018, she receive the Marie Hélène Allain Fellowship Award from the Sheila Hugh Mackay Foundation. She lives and works in Sackville, New Brunswick.

 

The artist wishes to acknowledge The Sheila Hugh Mackay Foundation for its support towards the creation of this project.

 

Réduire »

La boucle – Andrea Mortson

22 MARS AU 21 AVRIL 2019

Pour sa nouvelle exposition à la Galerie 3, Andrea Mortson propose une série de peintures intitulée La boucle.

La boucle soulève la surface pour révéler un autre côté, précédemment caché, mais égal au premier. La boucle nous rappelle qu’il est impossible de représenter le monde extérieur sans simultanément faire référence à un monde intérieur. La boucle acquiert sa forme sous l’effet de la torsion.

Les tableaux de cette exposition ramènent aux interactions ordinaires entre l’art et la nature—le paysage parcouru pour produire une peinture, le travail de l’arrangeur de fleurs, l’art créé en plein air, ou l’expérience chorégraphique d’un jardin de sculptures— ainsi qu’à la quête de permanence centrée sur l’humain et qui sous-tend toutes ces activités.

– Andrea Mortson

 

Lire la suite »

Dans sa peinture, Andrea Mortson nous invite dans un monde onirique où les symboles et les couleurs entretiennent une intrigante conversation avec la réalité. Ses paysages imaginaires nous transportent dans un univers magique empreint de romantisme et de liberté, tout en évoquant la fuite et la mémoire de l’instant perdu.

Son travail a en autres fait partie de projets d’exposition importants dont Oh, Canada présenté au MASS MoCA (Maine, É-U) et du Projet peinture de la Galerie de l’UQAM (Montréal). En plus de faire partie de collections privées au Canada et aux États-Unis, ses œuvres sont des collections de BMO Groupe financier, de l’Art Gallery of Nova Scotia, de l’Owen Art Gallery, du Centre des arts de la Confédération et de la Banque d’art du Conseil des arts du Canada. En 2018, elle a remporté  la bourse Marie Hélène Allain de la Fondation Sheila Hugh Mackay. Elle vit et travaille à Sackville au Nouveau-Brunswick.


L’artiste désire remercier la Fondation Sheila Hugh Mackay pour son soutien à la création de ce projet.

 

Réduire »