Les cycles d'essorage – Martin Bureau

MARCH 2 TO APRIL 1st 2018 

This exhibition showcases new paintings by Martin Bureau that follow in the vein of his recent works. Using watercolor and acrylics, he explores the catastrophe theories associated with the Anthropocene, the term given to the current geological era in which human activity has a greater impact on the evolution of ecosystems than any other natural phenomena.

Read more »

 Fairground and water rides, symbols of pure thrill, are juxtaposed with extreme natural elements. The allusion to the velocity of a spin cycle refers to the efficient running of the fairground rides; humankind is faced with the unknown of the next cycle. As one era rolls on to the next, the past is forgotten, purged and wrung out, and nature renews itself—or not.

Bureau’s painting technique, which combines figuration, erasure and transparency, lends a distinctive dimension to these works. Light emanates throughout the bold brushwork and subject matter. The worlds that emerge from his canvases are formed with varied brushstrokes, which build and distort through a movement of accumulation and reduction. Such mark-making reflects the conflict between technology and erosion: the lines and colors, the signal loss associated with the Anthropocene. We can sense the painter’s pleasure in this formal play.

« The concept of the Anthropocene is fascinating to me as it seems to encompass all forms of catastrophe theory—from eschatology to the perfect storm. The Anthropocene allows us to borrow the aesthetic of the sublime to create an image of the end of time. It is not borne of spirituality or of poetry, however, but of geology! And yet. A substantial layer of gas, plastic, and cement is building up on the Earth’s surface. We know it. We are having a good time.»

Martin Bureau 

 

 

Less »

Les cycles d’essorage – Martin Bureau

2 MARS AU 1er AVRIL 2018

L’exposition, composée de tableaux réalisés à l’aquarelle et à l’acrylique, s’inscrit dans la continuité du travail récent de Martin Bureau, et dans la poursuite d’une forme d’investigation des théories de la catastrophe dont celles entourant l’anthropocène. Ce dernier terme désigne la période géologique dans laquelle nous nous trouvons où l’impact de l’activité humaine domine l’évolution des écosystèmes, devant tous les autres phénomènes naturels.

Lire la suite »

 La technique picturale de Martin Bureau, qui implique à la fois la figuration, l’effacement et la transparence, prend avec Les cycles d’essorage une dimension toute particulière. La lumière traverse ici encore la dureté du trait et des sujets. Les mondes qui apparaissent sur les tableaux sont formés par des traces de nature diverse, qui créent et altèrent dans un mouvement d’accumulation et de perte. Les taches rappellent les conflits entre technologie et usure ; les lignes et les couleurs, la perte de signal liée à l’anthropocène. On sent le plaisir qu’a le peintre avec ces jeux formels.

Les manèges et jeux d’eau, symboles de plaisir brut, sont mis en relation avec des éléments naturels tendus. La vélocité d’essorage fait référence à l’efficacité des roulements des manèges. L’humain est face à l’inconnu du prochain cycle. Les époques se succèdent, le passé est oublié, purgé, essoré, et la nature se renouvelle, ou pas.

« Le concept d’anthropocène a pour moi ceci de fascinant qu’il semble englober toutes les formes de théories catastrophistes, de l’eschatologie à la tempête parfaite. L’anthropocène se permet de plus d’emprunter à l’esthétique du sublime en créant un imaginaire de la fin des temps. Mais il ne s’agit pas de spiritualité, ni de poésie mais bien de géologie ! Et pourtant. Une bonne couche de gaz, de plastique et de ciment s’accumule à la surface de la Terre. Nous le savons. Nous nous amusons. » 

Martin Bureau


Réduire »