Martin Bureau

Martin Bureau uses the mediums of painting, video installation, and documentary film to examine the intersection of art and politics. Inspired by world events, his work offers a candid and critical statement on the social, economic, and cultural issues that surround us.

Read more »

 Bureau’s pictorial work, inspired by painting achievements in art history, is based on powerful images encountered during his extensive travels (to Cuba, China, Israel, Ireland, and Palestine, among others). In his compositions combining drawing, painting, drawing, and transparency, extremes meet and evoke a sense of tension where aesthetic and conceptual concerns clash. Notions of colonialism, catastrophe, and entropy are recurring themes in his body of work.

Bureau’s works have been exhibited in both public and private collections, including those of the Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec, the Santiago Museum of Contemporary Art (Chile), the World Expo in Shanghai (China), the Lacerte Gallery, L’Œil de poisson, as well as in Toronto at the Nicholas Metivier, Lonsdale, and Drabinsky galleries. His works are not only prized by private collectors, but have also been collected by  the Musée National des Beaux-arts du Québec, the Musée du Bas-Saint-Laurent (Rivière-du-Loup), the Musée d’art contemporain de Baie-Saint-Paul, the Desjardins Group, the National Assembly of Quebec, SSQ, SAJO, and the cities of Montreal and Quebec, among others.

His documentary films have achieved international renown, winning awards at prestigious festivals in Toronto (Hot Docs), Saguenay (Regard), Quebec City (FCVQ), Montreal (RVCQ), London (Raindance), Vancouver (VLAFF), Chicago (CFF), Louisiana (Cinema on the Bayou), and Cannes (Short Film Corner).

Martin Bureau was born in St-Ubalde and lives and works in Quebec City.

Less »

 

 

Receive the price list

Martin Bureau

À travers les véhicules de la peinture, de l’installation vidéo et du documentaire, Martin Bureau s’intéresse à la rencontre de la géopolitique et de l’art. Inspirée par l’actualité mondiale, son œuvre livre un propos critique et frontal sur les enjeux sociaux, économiques et culturels qui nous entourent.

Lire la suite »

 Le travail pictural de Bureau, nourri par les acquis de la peinture à travers l’Histoire de l’art, s’appuie sur des images fortes issues de ses multiples voyages (Cuba, Chine, Israël, Irlande, Palestine…) Dans ses compositions alliant peinture, dessin et transparence, les extrêmes se rencontrent et provoquent un sentiment de tension où les préoccupations esthétiques et conceptuelles s’entrechoquent. Les notions de colonialisme, de catastrophe et d’entropie parcourent l’ensemble de son œuvre.

Les œuvres de Bureau ont été diffusées autant dans les institutions publiques que privées, notamment au Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec, au Musée d’art contemporain Quinta Normal de Santiago (Chili), à l’Exposition universelle de Shanghai (Chine), à la Galerie Lacerte, à L’Œil de poisson et à Toronto chez les Galeries Metivier, Lonsdale et Drabinsky. Prisées par les collectionneurs privés, ses œuvres ont également été acquises par des institutions telles : Musée National des Beaux-arts du Québec, Musée du Bas-Saint-Laurent (Rivière-du-Loup), Musée d’art contemporain de Baie-Saint-Paul, les Caisses Populaires Desjardins, l’Assemblée nationale du Québec, SSQ, SAJO et les villes de Montréal et de Québec.

Ses films documentaires ont considérablement rayonné à l’international, étant primés dans des festivals prestigieux à Toronto (Hot Docs), Saguenay (Regard), Québec (FCVQ), Montréal (RVCQ), Londres (Raindance), Vancouver (VLAFF), Chicago (CFF), Louisiane (Cinema on the Bayou) et Cannes (Short Film Corner).

Martin Bureau est né à St-Ubalde et il vit et travaille à Québec.

Réduire »

 

 

Recevoir la liste de prix