Thierry Arcand-Bossé

Thierry Arcand-Bossé is an accomplished painter who addresses the contradictions of our time through dense and detailed images that are at once innocuous and gritty. Borrowing from various cultural references, he creates images that articulate the most traditional of art historical practices—painting—through the digital world in which we live. 

Read more »

   His narrative imagery, which abounds with American references and takes a cinematographic approach that has long characterized his canvases, gradually gives way to confusion with ambiguous perspectives inspired by the screens that fill our world today. His recent meanderings around the planet with the help of Google Earth and Google Street View have given the artist a new take on landscape, but it was the webcam—a window onto the banality of daily life—that has inspired him to take us to the non-places with which we have become familiar. The points of reference are blurred and an air of mystery hovers over these spaces, which, when represented through the paradoxically slow and painstaking art of painting, become captivating and hypnotic.

Arcand-Bossé uses painting to question the nature and abundance of the images that surround us and the language of the Web that has become so entrenched in our habits that it transforms the way we see the world. Painting images appropriated from technology also encourages us to reflect on the pointlessness of the act. Arcand-Bossé positions our relationship to the image in terms of subjugation and alienation.

Thierry Arcand-Bossé was born in 1976 in Quebec City, where he lives and works. He obtained a Bachelor of Visual Arts from Université Laval in 2003. Arcand-Bossé’s work has been exhibited in galleries and artist-run centres around Quebec and he has participated in a number of events including ORANGE: Contemporary Art Event of Saint-Hyacinthe (2009), Quebec City’s Manif d’art (2008), the International Symposium of Contemporary Art of Baie Saint Paul (2007), and the Liverpool Biennial in the United Kingdom (2008). He has received recognition and support for his work through research and creation grants from the Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec. His works are held in a number of private collections including the Prêt d’œuvres d’art collection at the Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec and Collection Loto-Québec.

Less »

 

 

Receive the price list

Thierry Arcand-Bossé

Peintre d’expérience, Arcand-Bossé élabore une imagerie dense et fouillée, à la fois douce et abrasive, par laquelle il évoque les contradictions de notre époque. Tout en multipliant les emprunts et les référents culturels, il arrive à articuler une pratique traditionnelle de l’histoire de l’art – la peinture – avec le monde numérique dans lequel nous vivons, avec ses images dématérialisées et partagées sur les écrans.

Lire la suite »

   L’imagerie narrative pétrie d’américanité et aux accents cinématographiques par laquelle on a longtemps reconnu ses tableaux laisse peu à peu place à un trouble, à une ambiguïté des perspectives inspirées des écrans qui emplissent notre monde actuel. Ses récentes pérégrinations planétaires à l’aide des outils Google Street View et Google Earth lui ont d’abord inspiré une nouvelle idée du paysage, mais c’est dans l’univers des webcams, qui met en valeur la banalité du quotidien, qu’il a puisé pour nous faire entrer dans ces non-lieux qui nous sont devenus familiers. Ces espaces, aux points de repère brouillés et sur lesquels plane un climat de mystère, lorsque représentés par ce bel art de traditions paradoxalement lent et fastidieux qu’est la peinture, sont captivants et rappellent le pouvoir hypnotique des images.

Thierry Arcand-Bossé propose ainsi à travers la peinture un questionnement sur cette abondance et la nature des images qui nous habitent et au langage du web qui s’est naturalisé dans nos pratiques jusqu’à transformer notre regard. Peindre en passant par une appropriation des images formattées par la technologie ouvre également une réflexion sur la vanité qui l’accompagne. Thierry Arcand-Bossé positionne ainsi notre rapport à l’image en des termes d’asservissement et d’aliénation.

Thierry Arcand-Bossé est né en 1976 à Québec, où il vit et travaille. Il a obtenu un baccalauréat en arts visuels à l’Université Laval en 2003. Son travail a été diffusé en galerie et dans les centres d’artistes au Québec. L’artiste a également participé à différents événements dont ORANGE, L’événement d’art actuel de Saint-Hyacinthe (2009), la Manif d’art de Québec (2008), le Symposium d’art contemporain de Baie-Saint-Paul (2007) ainsi que la Liverpool Biennial au Royaume-Uni (2008). Son travail a également été reconnu et soutenu par le Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec par le biais de bourses de recherche et création. Ses œuvres font partie de plusieurs collections particulières, de la Collection prêt d’œuvres d’art du Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec, ainsi que de la collection de Loto-Québec.

Réduire »

 

 

Recevoir la liste de prix