Tim Moore

Tim Moore’s work immerses us in a troubled world filled with imagery of Métis identity, intersecting with the expression of masculinity and the world of horse  racing—a status symbol for the elite during Canada’s colonial period. Motifs of pedigree, colour, origin, and worn insignia appear throughout. Grotesque jockeys, memorabilia, horses, cars, and games of Cowboys and Indians make up an original swarm of imagery inspired by Canadian history and Aboriginal realities, portrayed with insight, humour, and irony.

Read more »

 These realities are explored through Moore’s unique lens, as he translates the ideas of construction and fragmentation that underlie identity issues into an artistic object.  epoxy resin, paper, metal, and plastics that give form to unique and vibrant characters. Recovered bones, feathers, tubes, and old electrical equipment are also reconfigured to create hybrid forms that disrupt the established order. 

Tim Moore studied art at Okanagan University College in Penticton, British Columbia before returning to Prince Albert in 2000, where he worked under the mentorship of painter Myles J. McDonald, and then artists Michel Boutin (2004) and Terrance Houle (2009). Tim Moore was selected to be a part of The Painting Project presented by the Galerie de l’UQAM in 2013. His work has been exhibited in Saskatchewan, Ottawa, and the Prairies as part of solo and collective exhibitions. A Day at the Races / Jour de course which was exhibited at Galerie 3 in October 2016 was his first solo exhibition in Quebec. Tim Moore’s works are part of the permanent collections of the Dunlop Art Gallery in Regina, Mann Art Gallery in Prince Albert and the Indigenous Art Centre in Gatineau.

Less »

 

 

Receive the price list

Tim Moore

L’œuvre de Tim Moore nous plonge dans l’imaginaire tourmenté et riche de l’identité métisse, traversée par l’expression de la masculinité et l’univers des courses de chevaux qui se sont déployées pendant la colonisation du Canada en tant que façon pour l’élite de communiquer son statut. Pureté de la race, couleur, origine et port d’insignes font partie du jeu. Cavaliers grotesques, objets souvenirs, chevaux, voitures et jeux de cowboys et d’Indiens composent un essaim original inspiré de l’histoire canadienne et des réalités autochtones, dépeintes avec perspicacité, humour et ironie.

Lire la suite »

 Le tout prend chez lui une couleur particulière en ce qu’il transpose en objet artistique les idées d’assemblage et de fragmentation qui sous-tendent la question identitaire. Ses peintures, sculptures et collages sont créés à partir d’objets triés et accessibles : panneaux de bois, résine époxyde, papier, métal et matière plastique qui donnent vie à des personnages insolites et animés ; ossements, plumes, tubes et matériel électrique hors d’usage, repris et reconfigurés de sorte à créer des hybrides qui perturbent l’ordre établi.

Tim Moore a étudié en arts à l’Okanagan University College à Penticton, en Colombie-Britannique, avant de retourner, en 2000, à Prince Albert, où il a travaillé sous le mentorat du peintre Myles J. McDonald, puis des artistes Michel Boutin (2004) et Terrance Houle (2009). Tim Moore a été sélectionné pour faire partie du Projet Peinture, mis en place par la Galerie de l’UQAM en 2013. Son travail a été présenté en Saskatchewan, à Ottawa et dans les Prairies dans le cadre d’expositions solos et collectives. L’exposition Race Day / Jour de course présentée à la Galerie 3 en octobre 2016 était son premier solo au Québec.

Les œuvres de Tim Moore font partie des collections permanentes de la Dunlop Art Gallery à Régina et de la Mann Art Gallery à Prince Albert.

Réduire »

 

 

Recevoir la liste de prix