Year of the Flood – Lindsay Montgomery

MARCH 20 TO APRIL 18 2021

*Because of the COVID-19 situation in Quebec City, we have the obligation to close the gallery temporarily. Follow our Facebook page and Instagram to know the details about the reopening. You can still reach the team by email at info@lagalerie3.com for any request or acquisition. See you very soon!

Drawing from the imagery and forms of the past to better understand and address the present, Lindsay Montgomery’s ceramics offer engaging narratives that bear witness to the inequalities and imbalances of our societies. Her creations explore, among others, political, feminist, environmental and colonial issues, in order to propose an alternative view to dominant ideologies. 

Conceived during the pandemic, the works in Year of the Flood reinterpret medieval representations of the Black Death and Dante’s Inferno in a contemporary way. Plates, cauldron, bottle, medicine jars and basket are used to tell stories that are as disturbing as they are wonderful. Playing on strong contrasts, Montgomery deals as much with the precariousness of the human condition in the face of illness and death as she does with the mythical and spiritual grandeur of nature. The remarkably technical sculptures in this body of work lead us to reflect on what constitutes the essence of life for each of us.

 

Read more »

Lindsay Montgomery holds a MFA from the University of Minnesota and a BFA  from the Nova Scotia College of Art and Design. She has exhibited her works in numerous venues in Canada, the United States and France. She is the recipient of the Emerging Artist Award of the National Council on Education for the Ceramic Arts (2019), the Winifred Shantz Award for Ceramics (2018), the Helen Copeland Memorial Award and the Joyce Carlyle Memorial Scholarship in the Crafts Endowment (2014). Her work is collected by: the Gardiner Museum, the Montreal Museum of Fine Arts, the Canadian Clay and Glass Gallery, Hope College collection in Michigan (USA), the Fernanda Faria Collection as well as many private collection in Canada, the United States and France. 

 

Less »

Press:
Le Soleil : Josianne Desloges – Lindsay Montgomery à la Galerie 3 : le pouvoir des Gorgones de faïence
Ici Radio-Canada – C’est encore mieux l’après-midiAnne-Josée Cameron – Art et culture : L’année du déluge de Lindsay Montgomery
L’Aérospatial – CKRL 89,1 Myriam Le Lan et Kassandra Graham – L’année du déluge de Lindsay Montgomery à la Galerie 3
MAtv – LéZarts QuébecTanya Beaumont, Marie-Hélène Raymond et Catherine Côté – Émission du 1er avril 2021
CBC ArtsLeah Collins – The pandemic deserves a special ‘plate’ in hell
À l’est de vos empires : Michelle Drapeau et Sevia Pellissier – Lindsay Montgomery à la Galerie 3

L'année du déluge – Lindsay Montgomery

20 MARS AU 18 AVRIL 2021

* Dû à la situation sanitaire actuelle dans la Ville de Québec, nous sommes dans l’obligation de fermer temporairement la galerie. Suivez notre page Facebook et Instagram pour connaître tous les détails de la reprise. L’équipe demeure toujours à votre service durant cette période. Contactez-nous à info@lagalerie3.com pour toute demande ou acquisition. À très bientôt!

Puisant à même l’imagerie et les formes du passé pour mieux comprendre et appréhender le présent, les céramiques de Lindsay Montgomery proposent des récits engagés témoignant des inégalités et des déséquilibres de nos sociétés. Ses créations explorent entre autres des questions politiques, féministes, environnementales et coloniales afin de proposer un regard alternatif aux idéologies dominantes.

Conçues au cours de la pandémie, les œuvres de L’année du déluge réinterprètent de manière contemporaine les représentations médiévales de la peste noire et de l’Enfer de Dante. Assiettes, chaudron, bouteille, pots de pharmacie et panier deviennent ainsi les supports de narrations tout aussi inquiétantes que merveilleuses. Jouant de contrastes forts, Montgomery y traite tout autant de la précarité de la condition humaine devant la maladie et la mort qu’elle rend compte de la grandeur mythique et spirituelle de la nature. D’une remarquable technicité, les sculptures de ce corpus nous amènent à réfléchir sur ce qui constitue pour chacun de nous l’essentiel de la vie.

Lire la suite »

Titulaire d’une maîtrise interdisciplinaire de l’Université du Minnesota et d’un baccalauréat interdisciplinaire de la Nova Scotia College of Art and Design, Lindsay Montgomery a largement exposé ses œuvres au Canada, aux États-Unis et en France. Elle est la lauréate du prix Artiste émergent du National Council on Education for the Ceramic Arts (2019), du Winifred Shantz Award for Ceramics (2018), du Helen Copeland Memorial Award et de la Joyce Carlyle Memorial Scholarship in the Crafts Endowment (2014). Son travail fait partie des collections du Gardiner Museum, du Musée des beaux-arts de Montréal, Canadian Clay and Glass Gallery, du Hope College au Michigan (É-U), de la Collection Fernanda Faria ainsi que de plusieurs collections privées au Canada, aux États-Unis et en France.

 

Réduire »

On en parle dans les médias:
Le Soleil : Josianne Desloges – Lindsay Montgomery à la Galerie 3 : le pouvoir des Gorgones de faïence
Ici Radio-Canada – C’est encore mieux l’après-midiAnne-Josée Cameron – Art et culture : L’année du déluge de Lindsay Montgomery
L’Aérospatial – CKRL 89,1 Myriam Le Lan et Kassandra Graham – L’année du déluge de Lindsay Montgomery à la Galerie 3
MAtv – LéZarts QuébecTanya Beaumont, Marie-Hélène Raymond et Catherine Côté – Émission du 1er avril 2021

CBC ArtsLeah Collins – The pandemic deserves a special ‘plate’ in hell
À l’est de vos empires : Michelle Drapeau et Sevia Pellissier – Lindsay Montgomery à la Galerie 3