François Morelli

APRIL 29 TO MAY 29, 2022

Galerie 3 is honoured to present the work of François Morelli. A major figure in visual and performance art in Quebec, he is also considered one of the pioneers of relational art. With more than 45 years of creation, the artist has opened the doors of his studio, allowing us to select works that have marked his career and reflect the importance, relevance and richness of his research.

The artist’s different practices—drawing, painting, sculpture, performance, and photography—seem to us to be facets of the same quest. Linked to each other by the passage of time, they give the impression of being the movements of a great composition, always in mutation.

The common thread running through this exhibition, if not through Morelli’s entire production, is the line. In addition to the distinct and recognizable elements it forms, it evokes the paths that cross in our lives, the links between events or even the traces that the artist has left in his performances.

For Morelli, Quebec City remains an important city, and this exhibition will be one more stroke in that never-ending work.

 

More »

“I would describe my many trips to Quebec City as surprising and unpredictable, where I have developed professional and friendly relationships that have been nurtured by a generous and creatively stimulating welcome.

The support and enthusiasm of this community of peers, artist-run centres, cultural and academic institutions and the connection with my research have often led me to surpass myself, to dare to play better by risking more. It is therefore not surprising that I have allowed myself to present complex and unpublished bodies of work.”

– François Morelli


François Morelli is a multidisciplinary artist who lives and works in Montreal. He holds a BFA from Concordia University (1975) and an MFA from Rutgers University in New Jersey (1983).

Since 1976, his work has been presented in several public museums, private galleries, artist-run centres and contemporary art events in Canada, the United States and Europe. He has exhibited at the Musée du Québec (1979), the Musée d’art de Joliette (1980), the Musée régional de Rimouski (1988 and 2019), the Centro Culturale Canadese (Italy, 1989), the Horodner Romley Gallery (New York, 1994 and 1995), La Vitrine (France, 2004), 1700 La Poste in Montréal (2016-17) and the Musée d’art contemporain de Baie-Saint-Paul (2019). He has also participated in the Biennale de Montréal (2002) and the Biennale du Havre (France, 2006). In 2007, François Morelli presented major installations at the Atlanta Center for Contemporary Art and the Hamilton Art Gallery. In 2011, he was part of the Triennale Québécoise (Musée d’art contemporain, Montréal).

He has also received numerous awards, including the Prix d’excellence at the Biennale de dessin, de l’estampe et du papier du Québec in 1993, the Prix Louis-Comtois in 2007, awarded by the City of Montreal in collaboration with the AGAC, and the prestigious Prix Ozias-Leduc in 2021, awarded by the Fondation Émile-Nelligan.

In addition to this long list of accomplishments, he is also a teacher who has travelled from New York (Rutgers University, City University of New York, State University of New York) to Trois-Rivières (UQTR) and Montreal (Concordia).

His works are part of the collections of Air Canada, Canada art bank, Bibliothèque et archives nationales du Québec, Library and Archives Canada, Caisse de dépôt et placement du Québec, Cirque du Soleil, Canada Council for the Arts, Colombia University Library New York, Collection Steinberg, Collection Loto-Québec, Desjardins, Fluxeum, Museum of Art, Washington, Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal, Musée des beaux-arts de Montréal, Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec, Musée Régional de Rimouski, Musée de Joliette, New Jersey State Council for the Arts, New Jersey Rothmans of Pall Mall, University of Southern Alberta and several private collections in Canada, the United States and Europe.

Less »

ALL
DISPONIBLES
  • Tapis Volant (détail), 2008

Subscribe to our newsletter

François Morelli

29 AVRIL AU 29 MAI 2022

La Galerie 3 est honorée de présenter le travail de François Morelli. Figure majeure de l’art visuel et de la performance au Québec, il y est aussi considéré comme l’un des pionniers de l’art relationnel. Cumulant plus de 45 années de création, l’artiste nous a ouvert les portes de son atelier afin de sélectionner des œuvres qui ont marqué son parcours et reflètent l’importance, la pertinence et la richesse de ses recherches.

Les différentes pratiques de l’artiste — dessin, peinture, sculpture, performance et photographie – nous semblent être les facettes d’une même quête. Reliées les unes aux autres par le recul du temps, elles donnent l’impression d’être les mouvements d’une grande composition, toujours en mutation.

Le fil conducteur de cette exposition, pour ne pas dire de la production entière de Morelli, est la ligne. En plus des éléments distincts et reconnaissables qu’elle forme, elle évoque les chemins qui se croisent dans nos vies, les liens entre les événements ou même les traces que l’artiste a laissées lors de ses performances.

Pour Morelli, Québec demeure une ville importante et cette exposition sera un trait de plus dans cette œuvre sans fin.

 

Lire la suite »

Je qualifierais mes nombreux déplacements à Québec de surprenants et imprévisibles, j’y ai tissé des relations professionnelles et amicales qui ont été nourries par un accueil généreux et stimulant au plan créatif et humain.

Le soutien et l’enthousiasme de cette communauté de pairs, des centres d’artistes, des institutions culturelles et académiques ainsi que la connexion avec mes recherches m’ont souvent amené à me dépasser, à oser davantage afin de mieux jouer en risquant plus. Il n’est donc pas étonnant que je me sois permis d’y présenter des corpus complexes et inédits. »

– François Morelli


François Morelli est un artiste pluridisciplinaire qui vit et travaille à Montréal. Il détient un baccalauréat en arts plastiques de l’Université Concordia (1975) et une maîtrise en beaux-arts de l’Université Rutgers au New Jersey (1983).

Depuis 1976, son travail a été présenté dans plusieurs musées publics, galeries privées, centres d’artistes et événements d’art contemporain au Canada, aux États-Unis et en Europe. Il a exposé notamment au Musée du Québec (1979), au Musée d’art de Joliette (1980), au Musée régional de Rimouski (1988 et 2019), au Centro Culturale Canadese (Italie, 1989), à la Horodner Romley Gallery (New York, 1994 et 1995), à La Vitrine (France, 2004), au 1700 La Poste à Montréal (2016-17) et au Musée d’art contemporain de Baie-Saint-Paul (2019). Il a entre autres participé à la Biennale de Montréal (2002) et à la Biennale du Havre (France, 2006). En 2007, François Morelli a présenté des installations majeures au Centre d’art contemporain d’Atlanta et à la Galerie d’art d’Hamilton. En 2011, il a fait partie de la Triennale Québécoise (Musée d’art contemporain, Montréal).

Il a également reçu de nombreuses récompenses dont le Prix d’excellence à la Biennale de dessin, de l’estampe et du papier du Québec en 1993, le prix Louis-Comtois en 2007, décerné par la ville de Montréal en collaboration avec l’AGAC et le prestigieux prix Ozias-Leduc en 2021, décerné par la Fondation Émile-Nelligan.

À cette longue feuille de route s’ajoute son parcours de pédagogue qui l’a mené à New York (Rutgers University, City University of New York, State University of New York), Trois-Rivières (UQTR) et Montréal (Concordia).

Ses œuvres font partie des collections d’Air Canada, de la Banque d’œuvres d’art du Canada, de Bibliothèque et archives nationales du Québec, de la Bibliothèque nationale du Canada, de la Caisse de dépôt et placement du Québec, du Cirque du Soleil, du Conseil des arts du Canada, de la Colombia University Library New York, de la Collection Steinberg, de la Collection Loto-Québec, de Desjardins, du Fluxeum, du Museum of Art, Washington, du Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal, du Musée des beaux-arts de Montréal, du Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec, du Musée Régional de Rimouski, du Musée de Joliette, du New Jersey State Council for the Arts, du New Jersey Rothmans of Pall Mall, de l’University of Southern Alberta ainsi que de collections privées au Canada, aux États-Unis et en Europe.

Réduire »

 

TOUTES LES ŒUVRES
DISPONIBLES
  • Tapis Volant (détail), 2008

 

S’abonner à notre infolettre