Matière Écranique – Baron Lanteigne / Camille Bernard-Gravel

SEPTEMBER 10 TO OCTOBER 10 2021

In March 2021, Christie’s auction house sold a record $69.3 million NFT (non-fungible tokens), bringing to light an artistic practice that was previously little known to the general public and the visual arts community. Intrigued and stimulated to further understand this phenomenon, Galerie 3’s team invited artist Baron Lanteigne to present an exhibition that would bring to light questions specific to digital art and technologies as well as cybercommunities.

With Matière Écranique, Baron Lanteigne presents a series of screen sculptures and digital works that explore certain specificities of new digital technologies. With Augmented Protective Pouch (2020), the artist transposes the virtual phenomenon of NFTs in a tangible way to rethink and question our material relationship to art. For their part, the sculptures L’ordinateur (2021)—created in collaboration with artist Camille Bernard-Gravel—and Microcosme (2021) offer both a reflection on the materiality of personal screens and a questioning of the adaptability of digital structures to our lifestyles. The essentially virtual series Manipulations (2021) presents five NFTs offering a look at the artistic gesture in a digital creation context.

 

More »

Baron Lanteigne explores our relationship with technology and its infrastructure through installations of modified screens that open onto virtual worlds. The essence of his work comes from a web-based practice consisting of infiltrations of numerous cyber-communities and virtual collaborations. He has presented his work in solo and group exhibitions in Quebec, the United States, Latin America and Europe. He has also participated in numerous digital art events including The Wrong Biennale (ES), Mapping Festival (CH), Mirage Festival (FR), Vector Festival (CA), Sónar+D (ES), CUVO Video Art Festival (ES) and Electrofringe (AU). Self-taught and also holding a B.A. in Intermedia Cyberart from Concordia University, Baron Lanteigne lives and works in the City of Quebec.

Camille Bernard-Gravel is dedicated to a multidisciplinary practice that interrelates the magnificence of the natural world with man-made technologies. Her sculptures, videos and installations have been exhibited in Canada, Argentina, France, Thailand, Mexico and the United States. She has also taken part in several residencies and international events such as Québec Digital Art in New York, the Biennale internationale d’art numérique de Montréal, the Symposium international d’art contemporain de Baie-Saint-Paul and the Mois Multi de Québec. Bernard-Gravel holds a bachelor’s degree in visual and media arts from Laval University and lives and works in Quebec City.

 

Galerie 3 is pleased to partner with the cultural magazine À l’est de vos empires to present this exhibition. In addition to the works presented in the gallery, À l’est will broadcast an exclusively web-based component of the evolving Tangible Data project in its virtual showcase. A podcast interview with the artist and a critical text on the exhibition will also be published on the magazine’s web platform and the gallery’s website. Then, a round table on art and the web will be recorded live from the gallery in front of an audience on Saturday, October 2 at 1 pmFollow us on our social networks for all the details. 

Less »

Press
Ici Radio-Canada Télé – Téléjournal Québec – Valérie Cloutier: La Galerie 3 présente 2 nouvelles expositions
Le Soleil – Josianne Desloges: Graeme Patterson à la Galerie 3 : Danser son spleen/Matière écranique

 

Listen the podcast of the round table Art and Digital technology: Deciphering the Web and its Challenges right here(in French)

ALL
DISPONIBLES

Matière Écranique – Baron Lanteigne / Camille Bernard-Gravel

10 SEPTEMBRE AU 10 OCTOBRE 2021

En mars 2021, la maison d’enchères Christie’s réalisait une vente record de 69,3 millions de dollars pour un NFT (jetons non fongibles) révélant ainsi au grand jour une pratique artistique encore jusque-là peu connue du grand public et du milieu des arts visuels. Intriguée et stimulée à comprendre davantage ce phénomène, l’équipe de la Galerie 3 a invité l’artiste Baron Lanteigne à présenter une exposition qui mettrait en lumière des questionnements propres à l’art et aux technologies numériques de même qu’aux cybercommunautés.

Avec Matière Écranique, Baron Lanteigne présente une série de sculptures d’écrans et d’œuvres numériques explorant certaines spécificités des nouvelles technologies numériques. Avec Augmented Protective Pouch (2020), l’artiste transpose de manière tangible le phénomène virtuel des NFT pour repenser et interroger notre rapport matériel à l’art. De leur côté, les sculptures L’ordinateur (2021) — réalisée en collaboration avec l’artiste Camille Bernard-Gravel — et Microcosme (2021) proposent autant une réflexion sur la matérialité des écrans personnels qu’une remise en question de l’adaptabilité des structures numériques à nos modes de vie. Essentiellement virtuelle, la série Manipulations (2021) présente quant à elle cinq NFT offrant un regard sur le geste artistique dans un contexte de création numérique.

 

Lire la suite »

Baron Lanteigne explore notre relation avec la technologie et son infrastructure par l’entremise d’installations d’écrans modifiés s’ouvrant sur des mondes virtuels. L’essence de son travail provient d’une pratique issue du web consistant plus particulièrement d’infiltrations de nombreuses cybercommunautés ainsi que de collaborations virtuelles. Il a présenté ses œuvres à l’occasion d’expositions individuelles et collectives au Québec, aux États-Unis, en Amérique latine de même qu’en Europe. Il a également pris part à de nombreux événements d’art numériques dont The Wrong Biennale (ES), Mapping Festival (CH), Mirage Festival (FR), Vector Festival (CA), Sónar+D (ES), CUVO Video Art Festival (ES) et Electrofringe (AU). Autodidacte et également détenteur d’un baccalauréat Intermedia Cyberart de l’Université Concordia, Baron Lanteigne vit et travaille à Québec.

Camille Bernard-Gravel se consacre à une pratique multidisciplinaire mettant en interrelation la magnificence du monde naturel et les technologies inventées par l’humain. Les sculptures, vidéos et installations de cette artiste ont été exposées au Canada, en Argentine, en France, en Thaïlande, au Mexique et aux États-Unis. Elle a également pris part à plusieurs résidences et évènements internationaux tels que Québec Digital Art in New York, la Biennale internationale d’art numérique de Montréal, le Symposium international d’art contemporain de Baie-Saint-Paul et le Mois Multi de Québec. Titulaire d’un baccalauréat en arts visuels et médiatiques de l’Université Laval, Bernard-Gravel vit et travaille à Québec.

 

La Galerie 3 est heureuse de s’associer au magazine culturel À l’est de vos empires pour la présentation de cette exposition. En complément aux œuvres présentées en galerie, À l’est diffusera un volet exclusivement web du projet évolutif Tangible Data dans sa vitrine virtuelle. Une entrevue avec l’artiste en balado de même qu’un texte critique sur l’exposition seront également publiés sur la plateforme web du magazine et le site de la galerie. Puis, une table ronde sur l’art et le web sera enregistrée en direct de la galerie devant public le samedi 2 octobre à 13 h. Suivez-nous sur nos réseaux sociaux pour connaître tous les détails.

Réduire »

 

On en parle dans les médias
Ici Radio-Canada Télé – Téléjournal Québec – Valérie Cloutier: La Galerie 3 présente 2 nouvelles expositions

 

 

TOUTES LES ŒUVRES
DISPONIBLES